The Work

Who signs up for her first ballroom competition for close to 22 months while in the process of moving house across town? Umm, self-moving except for the heaviest items… This kwazy girl! I hadn’t expected my house to sell so quickly or to find a new place so rapidly. But, life is what happens while you’re making other plans, right? Most dance and fitness training– except my teaching duties and some dance lessons–  fell off the map as daily I sherpa’d cardboard boxes up and down stairs and from room to room. Meals weren’t. Just hodgepodges of items acquired quickly and scarfed down with little attention paid. Wine soothed the exhausted beast of burden I had become. When they say moving house is one of the most stressful and demanding life events one has to endure — up there with divorce and uh death– they ain’t kidding! Somewhere, underneath the grind, clarity glimmered. Yes, the last blog post I completed was about the concept of persistence: fall down seven times, get up eight. It had to become “fall down eight times, get up nine.” Fortunately, I forgive me.

I forgive myself so well, I bought a super-duper juicer and new running shoes. My competition is on June 13. Gold International Standard and, baby, I need to become besties with the choreography real quick. And, ready, set, go!

Today:

Ballroom: 1 hour. Rumba warm-up. Slow Foxtrot and Quickstep review.

Weight-training: 1 hour. Shoulders and arms.

Getting juiced up for competition!

Getting juiced up for competition!

Image 1

 

Leave a Reply

